Because of a lapse in government funding, the information on this website may not be up to date, transactions submitted via the website may not be processed, and the agency may not be able to respond to inquiries until appropriations are enacted.
The NIH Clinical Center (the research hospital of NIH) is open. For more details about its operating status, please visit
Updates regarding government operating status and resumption of normal operations can be found at


November 23, 2015

At its fall meeting, the American Association of Colleges of Nursing (AACN) awarded the 2015 Policy Luminary Award to Dr. Patricia Grady, director of the National Institute of Nursing Research. AACN established the award in 2009 to recognize each year an outstanding nurse leader for achievement in nursing, research, and health care policy.

“Dr. Grady’s illustrious career in nursing science has paved the way for advancing healthcare policy on numerous fronts,” said Dr. Deborah Trautman, President and CEO of the American Association of Colleges of Nursing. “Her leadership over NINR for the past 20 years, coupled with her own extensive research portfolio, has helped to ground health policy decisions in evidence. National dialogues on how to improve quality of life, promote health, wellness, and reduce burden and cost are more informed when nursing research, and in particular that of NINR, is not only included, but translated into policy. Dr. Grady has taken up this cause by working with her colleagues across other institutes and disciplines within NIH and the broader research community.”

In brief remarks, Dr. Grady recognized “the reciprocal relationship between research and policy,” and noted that NINR works “to align our research to be cognizant of society’s most pressing needs so as to improve practice and advance the education and training of the next generation of nurse researchers.” Dr. Grady also said that “AACN has been a major force in these efforts, with its policy agenda and numerous conferences that create venues for important discussions on research, policy, and training.”

Past recipients of the award include Dr. Mary Wakefield, Acting Deputy Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services, Dr. Ada Sue Hinshaw, the first director of the NINR, and other federal leaders. 


Photo Caption: (from l) AACN CEO and President, Deborah Trautman; NINR Director, Dr. Patricia A. Grady; and AACN Board Chair, Eileen Breslin.

Photo Credit: AACN

Share this article on:
Facebook Twitter linkedin Pintrest Google +