Because of a lapse in government funding, the information on this website may not be up to date, transactions submitted via the website may not be processed, and the agency may not be able to respond to inquiries until appropriations are enacted.
The NIH Clinical Center (the research hospital of NIH) is open. For more details about its operating status, please visit
Updates regarding government operating status and resumption of normal operations can be found at


June 29, 2015

NINR encourages eligible researchers to apply to the 2015–2016 Lasker Clinical Research Scholars Program. The Lasker Scholars program is a partnership of the National Institutes of Health and the Lasker Foundation, supporting exceptional clinical researchers in the early stages of their careers to promote their development as independent investigators.

Lasker Scholars are appointed as tenure-track investigators in the NIH Intramural Research Program (IRP) for 5–7 years, followed by 3 years of independent financial support at an extramural research institution, or by continuation in the NIH IRP. Eligible investigators in the extramural community, as well as those currently employed by NIH, may apply to the program.

The application period opens July 27, 2015 and closes August 27, 2015. For more information on the program, including eligibility criteria and application instructions, visit: The full program announcement is available at: General questions may be addressed to Dr. Charles R. Dearolf, Assistant Director for Intramural Research at

For profiles of current Lasker Scholars, including NINR’s Dr. Jessica Gill, please visit