The mission of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve its mission, NINR supports research and research training through grants and fellowships.      

DESP team photo

The NINR DESP Team

Part of the NINR Division of Extramural Science Programs (DESP), NINR Program Directors are scientists who oversee the conduct of research programs within specific science areas. They are the main contact between NINR and the extramural research community, and serve as an advocate and resource for applicants and investigators seeking NINR research and training grants.

NINR-supported research is divided into five areas of science:

•    Symptom Science
•    Wellness
•    Self-Management
•    End-of-Life and Palliative Care
•    Technology and Training

Individuals are strongly encouraged to contact the Program Director in their area of interest to discuss proposed research projects and/or training opportunities. If you are interested in a topic area not identified, please contact any of the Program Directors listed below and they can direct you to the right person.

Dr. Marguerite KearneyDr. Marguerite Littleton Kearney
Director, Division of Extramural Science Programs (DESP)

301-402-7932/7889
marguerite.kearney@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Yvonne Bryan

Dr. Yvonne Bryan
Deputy Director, DESP

301-594-1580
yb5y@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Symptom Science

Dr. Martha MatochaDr. Martha Matocha
Team Lead

Biology of Symptoms, Clinical Research Methods
301-594-2775
matocham@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Michelle Hamlet

Dr. Michelle Hamlet
Symptom Recognition/Assesment, Symptom Clusters
301-496-9623
hamletm@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Lois TullyDr. Lois Tully
Genomic Science, Symptom Management
301-594-5968
tullyla@mail.nih.gov



 

 

 

 

 

 


Back to Top

Wellness

Dr. Rebecca HenryDr. Rebecca Henry
HIV/AIDS, Immune Function
301-594-5976 
rebecca.henry@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 


 


Dr. Sung Sug (Sarah) Yoon
Women’s Health
301-402-6959 
sungsug.yoon@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr.  Mary Roary

Dr. Mary Roary
Health Promotion, Disease Prevention, Environmental Influences, Health Disparities
301-594-2154
mary.roary@nih.gov


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

Self-Management

Dr. Karen HussDr. Karen Huss
Self-Management in Acute and Chronic Conditions, Caregiving
301-594-5970
kh337v@nih.gov
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Becky RoofDr. Becky Roof
Chronic Disease Self Management
301-594-5971
Rebecca.roof@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

End-of-Life and Palliative Care

Dr. Jeri Miller

Dr. Jeri Miller
Chief, Office of End-of-Life & Palliative Care Research (OEPCR)
Interim: Centers Programs
301-594-6152
jmiller@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Lynn AdamsDr. Lynn Adams
Palliative Care
301-594-8911
lynn.adams@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Dr. Karen KehlDr. Karen Kehl
End of Life, Hospice
301-594-8010
karen.kehl@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

Technology and Training



Dr. Augie DianaDr. Augie Diana
Team Lead
Small Business (SBIR/STTR), Technology & Informatics, Community-Based Interventions
(including mHealth, Big Data Management & Analysis, and Team Science)
301-402-6423
dianaa@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

 

 


 

Dr. David BanksDr. David Banks
Training - Individual and Institutional National Research Service Awards (NRSAs)
301-496-9558
banksdh@mail.nih.gov


 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to Top