The mission of the National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) is to promote and improve the health of individuals, families, and communities. To achieve its mission, NINR supports research and research training through grants and fellowships.      

DESP team photo

The NINR DESP Team

Part of the NINR Division of Extramural Science Programs (DESP), NINR Program Directors are scientists who oversee the conduct of research programs within specific science areas. They are the main points of contact between NINR and the extramural research community, and serve as an advocate and resource for applicants and investigators seeking NINR research and training grants.

NINR-supported research is divided into five areas of science:

•   Symptom Science
•   Wellness
•   Self-Management
•   Technology and Training
•   End-of-Life and Palliative Care

Individuals are strongly encouraged to contact the Program Director in their area of interest to discuss proposed research projects and/or training opportunities. If you are interested in a topic area not identified, please contact any of the Program Directors listed below and they can direct you to the right person.


DIVISION OF EXTRAMURAL SCIENCE PROGRAMS SENIOR LEADERSHIP
Dr. Marguerite Kearney

Marguerite Littleton Kearney, PhD, RN, FAAN
Director, Division of Extramural Science Programs 
301-402-7932/7889
marguerite.kearney@nih.gov

 

 

 

Dr. Bryan

Yvonne Bryan, PhD
Deputy Director, Division of Extramural Science Programs
Chief, Office of Extramural Research Administration
301-594-1580
yvonne.bryan@nih.gov

 

 

 

OFFICE OF EXTRAMURAL PROGRAMS 

Nara Gavini, PhD, MPhil, MSc
Chief, Office of Extramural Programs
301-594-8965
nara.gavini@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Symptom Science and Genetics; Self-Management

Dr. Martha Matocha

Martha Matocha, PhD
Team Lead, Symptom Science and Genetics; Self-Management
301-594-2775
matocham@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Dr. Michelle Hamlet

Michelle R. J. Hamlet, PhD
Symptom Biology; Symptom Recognition/Assessment; Symptom Clusters
301-496-9623
michelle.hamlet@nih.gov

 

 

 

Karen Huss Bio Pic

Karen Huss, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAAAAI, FAHA
Self-Management; Caregiving; Rehabilitative Care
301-594-5970
hussk@mail.nih.gov



 

 

 

Dr. Rebecca RoofRebecca Roof, PhD
Self-Management
301-594-5971
rebecca.roof@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Dr. Lois Tully

Lois A. Tully, PhD
Genomics; Symptom Management
301-594-5968
lois.tully@nih.gov


 

 

Back to Top

 

Wellness; Technology and Training

Rebekah Rasooly, PhD
Team Lead, Wellness; Technology and Training
301-594-1797
rebekah.rasooly@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Dr. David Banks

David Banks, PhD, MPH, MSSW, RN
Training; Basic, Biomedical, and Behavioral Research
301-496-9558
david.banks@nih.gov

 

 

Dr. Augie Diana

Augie Diana, PhD
Technology; Small Business Research; Big Data; Physical Activity 
301-402-6423
dianaa@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Dr. Rebecca Henry

Rebecca Henry, PhD, RN
HIV/AIDS and Immune Function

301-594-5976 
rebecca.henry@nih.gov

 


 

Dr. Mary Roary

Mary Roary, PhD
Health Promotion; Disease Prevention; Health Disparities; Environmental Influences
301-594-2154
mary.roary@nih.gov

 

 

 

Sung Sug (Sarah) Yoon, PhD, RN
Women’s Health
301-402-6959 
sungsug.yoon@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Back to Top

 

OFFICE OF END-OF-LIFE AND PALLIATIVE CARE RESEARCH

 

Dr. Jeri MillerJeri L. Miller, PhD
Chief, Office of End-of-Life and Palliative Care Research
NINR Centers Program
301-594-6152
jmiller@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Dr. Lynn AdamsLynn S. Adams, PhD
Palliative Care
NINR Centers Program
301-594-8911
adamsls@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Dr. Karen KehlKaren A. Kehl, PhD, RN, FPCN
Hospice/End-of-Life Care
NINR Centers Program
301-594-8010
karen.kehl@nih.gov

 

 

 

Back to Top