Led by Scientific Director Dr. Ann Cashion, NINR's Division of Intramural Research (DIR) is home to investigators, research nurses, nurse practitioners and research fellows who work independently and collaboratively to conduct basic and clinical research on the interactions among molecular mechanisms underlying a single symptom or cluster of symptoms and environmental influences on individual health outcomes. For more information about DIR, please visit http://www.ninr.nih.gov/researchandfunding/dir

DIR Office of the Director

DIR Office of the Clinical Director

DIR Office of the Training Director

DIR Research Staff 

DIR Administrative Staff


Office of the Director

Dr. Ann Cashion

Ann Cashion, PhD, RN, FAAN
Scientific Director
Division of Intramural Research
301-496-0294
ann.cashion@nih.gov

 

 

 

Office of the Clinical Director

Suzanne Wingate, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAHA
Senior Clinician
Clinical Director
301-827-0982
suzanne.wingate@nih.gov

 

 

 

Karez Hawkins
Patient Care Coordinator
301-443-9822
hawkinsks@mail.nih.gov

Savita Shashikiran
Quality Assurance Program Specialist
301-496-3949
shashikirans@mail.nih.gov

 

Dr. Brian WalittBrian Walitt, MD, MPH
Staff Clinician (Medical Officer)
301-451-1683
brian.walitt@nih.gov

 

 

 

 

Office of the Training Director

Pamela Tamez, PhD
Acting Training Director
Deputy Training Director
301-451-5895
tamezpa@mail.nih.gov 

 

 

 

Katie Edwards
Pre-doctoral Fellow, Graduate Partnerships Program
301-594-0081
edwardska@mail.nih.gov

Tokunbor Lawal, MSN, RN
Pre-doctoral Fellow, Graduate Partnerships Program
301-451-2214
lawalt@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Stephanie Prescott
Pre-doctoral Fellow, Graduate Partnerships Program
301-594-0081
prescottsm@mail.nih.gov

Kristen R. Weaver, MS, ACNP, ANP
Pre-doctoral Fellow, Graduate Partnerships Program
Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-827-0880
kristen.weaver@nih.gov

 

 

Back to Top


DIR Research Staff

Koki FukuharaKoki Fukuhara, PhD
Guest Researcher
301-451-1686
kfukuhar@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Dr. Hyungsuk KimHyungsuk Kim, DDS, PhD
Staff Scientist
301-402-7786
kimhy@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Chen Lai, PhD
Special Volunteer
301-443-4870
laichi@mail.nih.gov

Christiana Martin
Postbac IRTA Fellow
301-451-2113
martinc2@mail.nih.gov

Dan Wang
Biologist
301-435-8398
dan.wang@nih.gov

Back to Top

 


Biobehavioral Branch

Digestive Disorders Unit

Dr. Wendy A. HendersonWendy A. Henderson, PhD, RN, CRNP
Tenure Track Investigator
Chief, Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-451-9534
hendersw@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Dr. Sarah AbeySarah Abey, PhD, BSN, RN
Nurse Consultant
Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-827-0943
sarah.abey@nih.gov

 

 

Dr. Nicolaas FourieNicolaas Fourie, PhD
Research Fellow
Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-451-1676
fourienh@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Paule V. Joseph, PhD, RN, CRNP, CTN-B
Clinical and Translational Postdoctoral Fellow (IRTA)
Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-443-4693
paule.joseph@nih.gov  

 

 

Jeffrey Robinson, PhD
Postdoctoral Fellow
Digestive Disorders Unit
Biobehavioral Branch
301-451-9534
jeffrey.robinson@nih.gov

 

 

Back to Top

 

Symptom Management Branch

 Clinical Biomarkers Unit

Dr. Ann CashionAnn Cashion, PhD, RN, FAAN
Scientific Director
Division of Intramural Research
301-496-0294
ann.cashion@nih.gov

 

 

 

Young-Eun Cho, PhD, RN
Research Fellow
Genomic and Clinical Biomarkers Unit
Symptom Management Branch
301-451-1678
young-eun.cho@nih.gov

 

 

Symptom Biology Unit

Dr. Leorey N. SaliganLeorey N. Saligan, PhD, RN, CRNP
Tenure Track Investigator
Chief, Symptoms Biology Unit
Symptom Management Branch
301-451-1685
saliganl@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Kristin Filler

Kristin Dickinson, PhD, RN, OCN
Postdoctoral Fellow
K99/ROO Recipient
Symptoms Biology Unit
301-594-0146
fillerka@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Rebekah Feng
Research Fellow
301-827-5232
fengl2@mail.nih.gov

Sumiyya Raheem
Postbac
301-827-2399
raheemsa@mail.nih.gov

Alex Ross
Research Nurse
301-443-9140
rossal@mail.nih.gov

Brian Wolff
Postdoc
301-451-7328
wolffbs@mail.nih.gov

 

 Cardiovascular Symptoms Unit

Dr. Marguerite M. EnglerMarguerite M. Engler, PhD, RN, MS, FAHA
Chief, Cardiovascular Symptoms Unit
Symptom Management Branch
301-496-3916
englermm@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Michael Rosario
Postbac
301-496-3916
rosariomt@mail.nih.gov

Karen Taylor
Research Nurse
301-451-5952
taylorkm@mail.nih.gov

Back to Top

 


Tissue Injury Branch

Brain Injury Unit

Dr. Jessica GillJessica M. Gill, PhD, RN
Tenure Track Investigator
Lasker Clinical Research Scholar
Chief, Brain Injury Unit
Tissue Injury Branch
301-827-4673
gillj@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Lindsay Arcurio, PhD 
Postdoctoral Fellow
Brain Injury Unit
Tissue Injury Branch
lindsay.arcurio@nih.gov

 

 

 

Mary Ley 
Research Nurse
301-496-3950
mley@mail.nih.gov

photo of Nicole OsierNicole Osier, PhD, BSN, BS, RN
Postdoctoral Fellow

Brain Injury Unit

 

Tissue Injury Branch
301-451-8452
osiernd@mail.nih.gov

 

Neuromuscular Symptoms Unit

Dr.  Katy Meilleur

Katy Meilleur, PhD, CRNP
Assistant Clinical Investigator
Neuromuscular Symptoms Unit
Tissue Injury Branch
301-435-1503
meilleurk@mail.nih.gov

 

 

Irene Arveson
Research Nurse
301-431-4881
arvesonic@mail.nih.gov

Sonia Razaqyar
Postbac
202-210-7374
razaqyarms@mail.nih.gov

Monique Shelton
Postbac
651-730-4001
sheltonmo@mail.nih.gov

Jessica Witherspoon, PhD, DPT
Postdoctoral Fellow
301-435-1503
jessica.witherspoon@nih.gov

 

Vascular Biology Unit

Dr. Mary B. EnglerMary B. Engler, PhD, RN, MS, FAHA
Chief, Vascular Biology Unit
Tissue Injury Branch
301-594-0081
englermb@mail.nih.gov

 

 

 

Back to Top


DIR Administrative Staff

Isla Norwood
DIR Principal Administrative Officer
301-402-5490
inorwood@mail.nih.gov

Steve Weiss 
Administrative Officer
301-594-4053
weissst@mail.nih.gov

Jerri Johnson
Program Support Assistant
301-496-3932
johnsonjj@nih.gov

Katie Rizak
Program Specialist
301-451-1674
krizak@mail.nih.gov