Department of Health and Human Services

National Institutes of Health

National Institute of Nursing Research

Minutes of the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research

January 24, 2018

The 94th meeting of the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research (NACNR) was convened on Wednesday, January 24, 2018, at 9:00 a.m. via WebEx. The open session scheduled for Tuesday, January 23, 2018 was canceled because of the lapse in government funding. The closed session of the meeting, which included consideration of grant applications, was convened on Wednesday, January 24, 2018, at 9:00 a.m. and continued until adjournment at 1:00 p.m. Dr. Patricia A. Grady, Chair, NACNR, presided over the meeting.

CLOSED SESSION

REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS

NACNR members considered <u>163</u> research and training grant applications on which NINR was the primary Institute; these applications requested a total of <u>\$46,937,912</u> (direct costs year 01). The Council also considered <u>239</u> applications on which another Institute/Center was primary and NINR was secondary. These applications requested a total of <u>\$83,694,251</u> (direct costs year 01). The Council concurred with the Initial Review Group recommendations on these <u>402</u> applications.

ADJOURNMENT

The 94th meeting of the NACNR was adjourned at 1:00 p.m. on January 24, 2018.

CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing minutes are accurate and complete.

Patricia A. Grady, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N. Chair National Advisory Council for Nursing Research Marguerite Kearney, Ph.D., R.N., F.A.A.N. Acting Executive Secretary National Advisory Council for Nursing Research

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT

- Dr. Patricia A. Grady, Chair
- Dr. Marguerite Kearney, Acting Executive Secretary
- Dr. Kathryn Bowles
- Dr. Yvette Conley
- Mr. James Corbett
- Dr. George Demiris
- Dr. Audwin Fletcher
- Dr. Jennifer Hatzfeld
- Dr. Deborah Koniak-Griffin
- Dr. Karen Meneses
- Dr. Shirley Moore
- Dr. Rita Pickler
- Dr. Nancy Redeker
- Dr. Meredith A. Rowe
- Dr. Jennifer Temel
- Dr. JoEllen Wilbur

FEDERAL EMPLOYEES PRESENT

- Dr. Lynn Adams, NINR/NIH
- Mr. Brian Albertini, NINR/NIH
- Dr. David Banks, NINR/NIH
- Mr. Nathan Brown, NINR/NIH
- Dr. Yvonne Bryan, NINR/NIH

Dr. Augusto Diana, NINR/NIH Mr. Christopher Graves, NINR/NIH Dr. Michelle Hamlet, NINR/NIH Dr. Rebecca Henry, NINR/NIH Dr. Karen Huss, NINR/NIH Dr. Marguerite Kearney, NINR/NIH Dr. Karen Kehl, NINR/NIH Ms. Connie Latzko, NINR/NIH Dr. Weigun Li, NINR/NIH Dr. Martha Matocha, NINR/NIH Dr. Jeri Miller, NINR/NIH Dr. Rebekah Rasooly, NINR/NIH Dr. Mary C. Roary, NINR/NIH Dr. Rebecca Roof, NINR/NIH Mr. Federico Rosales, NINR/NIH Dr. Lois Tully, NINR/NIH Mr. Kevin Wilson, NINR/NIH Mr. Ajay Yadava, NINR/NIH Dr. Sarah Yoon, NINR/NIH