Skip to main content

NINR Welcomes New Members to Advisory Council

February 25, 2021

Edmond Byrnes, PhD

The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) announced the appointment of five new members to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research (NACNR). Members of the council are drawn from the scientific and lay communities, embodying a diverse perspective from the fields of nursing, public and health policy, law, and economics. NINR, a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is the primary federal agency for the support of nursing research.

The NACNR meets three times a year on the NIH campus to provide recommendations on the direction and support of the research that forms the evidence base for nursing practice. An important role of the council is to conduct the second-level review of grant applications that have previously been reviewed for scientific merit. In addition, the council reviews the Institute's extramural programs and makes recommendations about its intramural research activities.

NINR Director Dr. Shannon Zenk is pleased to welcome the following new members:

lewin.jpgGrayson Holmbeck, PhD is professor of clinical psychology and director of clinical training in the Department of Psychology at Loyola University Chicago. His research interests include adaptation to physical disabilities and chronic illness during adolescence, developmental psychopathology of adolescence, family relationships during early and late adolescence, and statistical applications in psychology. He is currently a principal investigator supported by NIH and the Kiwanis Neuroscience Research Foundation for studies of youth and young adults with spina bifida. Dr. Holmbeck’s research focuses on self-management and the transition from pediatric to adult health care, as well as related family, psychosocial, and neuropsychological functioning. Additionally, his research examines the effectiveness of a camp-based independence program for children, adolescents, and young adults with spina bifida. Dr. Holmbeck was the editor of the Journal of Pediatric Psychology from 2013-2017, and he has earned multiple honors from Loyola University Chicago, Division 54 of the American Psychological Association, the Spina Bifida Association of America, and the Illinois Psychological Association.

lewin.jpgMallory Johnson, PhD is a licensed clinical health psychologist at the University of California, San Francisco. His research has focused on understanding, measuring, and improving the health of patients with chronic diseases such as HIV. Dr. Johnson’s program of multidisciplinary collaborative research is focused on improving HIV treatment outcomes through patient empowerment. His teaching mission is primarily achieved through mentoring early career investigators. He is the co-director of the NIH-funded Center for AIDS Prevention Studies (CAPS) and the director of the CAPS Developmental Core. In 2020, Dr. Johnson also took on the role of co-director for the UCSF Center for AIDS Research (CFAR), for which he oversees the Developmental Core.

lewin.jpgChristopher Lee, PhD, RN, FAHA, FAAN, FHFSA is professor and the Associate Dean for Research at the Boston College William F. Connell School of Nursing. As a cardiovascular nurse scientist, Dr. Lee has dedicated his career to better understanding heart disease and improving long term outcomes for patients and their families. He is known for his expertise in heart failure self-care, symptom science, and patient and care-partner dyadic research in chronic conditions, as well the application of advanced statistical methods. Dr. Lee’s research involving older adults with heart failure has been supported by grants from the NIH and the American Heart Association (AHA). Dr. Lee’s research on adults with heart failure has earned him multiple honors from the AHA, and he has been recognized as a leader in nursing science by the Heart Failure Society of America, the Friends of the National Institute of Nursing Research, and NINR.

lewin.jpgCindy L. Munro, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, FAAN, FAANP, FAAAS is dean and professor of the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies, the coeditor in chief of the American Journal of Critical Care, and a board-certified adult nurse practitioner. Her extensive research on the relationship between oral health and systemic disease helped create new standards of care aimed at reducing pneumonia and other complications in ventilated intensive care patients. The holder of three patents, she is currently studying the prevention of ICU delirium. Inducted into the Sigma Theta Tau International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame in 2016, Dr. Munro is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, the American Academy of Nurse Practitioners, and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

lewin.jpgElias Provencio-Vasquez, PhD, RN, FAAN, FAANP is a dean and professor at the University of Colorado College of Nursing. Over the past 35 years Dr. Provencio-Vasquez has been a clinician, educator, administrator, and researcher. Dr. Provencio-Vasquez is well known nationally and internationally for his work with “at risk women” and their families. He is an experienced neonatal and pediatric nurse practitioner. His background and expertise is in primary care and developmental assessments of HIV and drug/alcohol exposed infants, children, and adolescents. Dr. Provencio-Vasquez is a pioneer in creating innovative nursing approaches (home intervention) for mothers with substance use disorders and their children. Dr. Provencio-Vasquez has published and presented in numerous nursing, community, and interdisciplinary forums. He was the principal investigator on several research projects supported by the NIH, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, and the STaR Program funded by the US Department of Labor. Dr. Provencio-Vasquez holds fellowship status in several prestigious national organizations: United States Public Health Service Primary Care Policy Program; Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in Developing Leadership and Reducing Substance Abuse; American Association of Colleges of Nursing Leadership for Academic Nursing Programs; Robert Wood Johnson Nurse Executive; American Academy of Nurse Practitioners and American Academy of Nursing.

For more about the NACNR, please visit