Skip Navigation Links

NINR Welcomes New Members to Advisory Council

September 4, 2018: 2 PM ET

Edmond Byrnes, PhD

The National Institute of Nursing Research (NINR) announced the appointment of three new members to the National Advisory Council for Nursing Research (NACNR). Members of the council are drawn from the scientific and lay communities, embodying a diverse perspective from the fields of nursing, public and health policy, law, and economics. NINR, a component of the National Institutes of Health (NIH), is the primary federal agency for the support of nursing research.

The NACNR meets three times a year on the NIH campus to provide recommendations on the direction and support of the research that forms the evidence base for nursing practice. An important role of the council is to conduct the second-level review of grant applications that have previously been reviewed for scientific merit. In addition, the council reviews the Institute's extramural programs and makes recommendations about its intramural research activities.

NINR Acting Director Dr. Ann Cashion is pleased to welcome the following new members:

kelly.jpgJeffrey A. Kelly, PhD is Professor of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine and Director of the Center for AIDS Intervention Research at the Medical College of Wisconsin. Dr. Kelly’s academic career focuses on the application of behavioral science principles to the public health challenge of preventing HIV infection. His main priority has always been the conduct of “action-oriented” research that conceptualizes, carries out, and rigorously evaluates the impact of HIV prevention interventions. Dr. Kelly has also evaluated strategies to disseminate evidence-based HIV prevention interventions to community providers, as well as the outcomes of these interventions when used by providers in the field. In this way, Dr. Kelly’s record reflects longstanding contributions in dissemination, implementation science, and scale-up research.

Moore.pngIda M. (Ki) Moore, PhD, RN, FAAN is the Anne Furrow Professor and Interim Dean at the University of Arizona College of Nursing. For the past 25 years Dr. Moore has focused her program of research on the impact of central nervous system (CNS)-directed treatment for pediatric acute lymphoblastic leukemia (ALL) and brain tumors on cognitive outcomes and on mechanisms of tissue injury. She has conducted cell culture, pre-clinical, and translational clinical studies to gain understanding about gene expression changes associated with chemotherapy, oxidative stress, and apoptosis as mechanisms of treatment-related injury. She and her research team developed and tested an intervention that improved academic math abilities and quality of life for children receiving CNS treatment for ALL.  

montano.jpgNilda (Nena) Peragallo Montano, DrPH, RN, FAAN became the seventh dean of the School of Nursing at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill in January 2017. Formerly dean and professor of the University of Miami School of Nursing and Health Studies, she is an internationally recognized nurse scientist specializing in health disparities and culturally competent interventions with minority populations. She has devoted her career to improving the health status of minorities and other medically underserved groups. A former Robert Wood Johnson Clinical Nurse Scholar at the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Peragallo Montano received her Doctor of Public Health from the University of Texas, her Master of Science in Nursing from West Virginia University, and her Bachelor of Science in Nursing from the University of Chile. She is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing, a member of Sigma Theta Tau International Honor Society of Nursing, and an inductee of the International Nurse Researcher Hall of Fame. 

For more about the NACNR, please visit